1.6 C
New York
Tuesday, January 31, 2023

Chrome’s Incognito Mode: What is it?

Must read

When it comes to the list of the best web browsers available across all major platforms like Windows and macOS, Google Chrome stands at the top of the list. The top-tier web browser, which is owned and developed by Google, surpasses all other browsers, such as Firefox, Opera, etc., in terms of popularity and performance. There are numerous reasons why users of all major platforms opt to use Google Chrome instead of other prominent web browsers. According to Tech Rival, some of the most prominent reasons why users opt for Chrome over all other web browsers are its simple and easy-to-understand interface, lightning-fast speed, easy migration options, etc. Besides this, another reason why Chrome is extensively used is its top-tier collection of extensions, each of which offers users to perform specific tasks, such as saving webpages, printing, etc., without hassle.

Chrome offers tons of exciting features to users of all platforms. For example, it facilitates users to change their browser’s theme by choosing one from a massive collection of top-tier ones on the Chrome Web Store. Besides this, its top-tier sync functionality significantly benefits users who use the app on different devices to access the Internet. However, one feature that truly sets the browser apart is its native Incognito feature. This article will list numerous aspects related to the “Incognito Mode” that Google Chrome features. Let us begin:

What is the Incognito Mode on Chrome?

The term “Incognito Mode” was given by Google Chrome to distinguish or describe a private Internet browsing mode. When users turn on the “Incognito Mode” in Google Chrome, the browser does not save the record of any of the user’s activities on the Internet. The term is exclusive only to the Google Chrome browser. Other browsers term the secretive mode of browsing as the “private browsing mode.”

Even though the term might make individuals think that the browsing activity of users is completely hidden from their online identity, it is not true. The private browsing mode of Google Chrome only hides the activity of the user from other users of the device. For instance, it does not shield the online identity of the user. For example, even if a student uses their school’s WiFi network to access the Internet in Incognito mode, the academic institution will still be able to see and track the student’s online activities.

How to Delete Incognito History:

As mentioned earlier, deleting the browser’s history or using the Incognito or private browsing mode does not hide the user’s online activity record. There is a different method that users need to follow to get rid of their Incognito browsing mode’s history. Different operating systems feature different ways following which users can get rid of their Incognito mode’s history. For instance, if you are a macOS user who wishes to clear incognito history, all you need to do is open the Terminal app, type “sudo killall -HUP mDNSResponder,” press the Enter button, and enter the password to get the job done. On the other hand, if you wish to get rid of the incognito history on Windows, you can do it by opening the Command Prompt utility, typing “ipconfig/flushdns” and hitting the Enter button.

How the Incognito Mode of Google Chrome Works:

When a user opens a new incognito window, they are basically creating a new incognito browsing session. Hence, any window or tab they open after that becomes a part of the same session. To end the session, all the user needs to do is close all the opened windows and tabs. When the user uses Chrome’s Incognito browsing mode, they are not signed into any specific account. However, even though the browsing record cannot be accessed by other device users, it may be viewed by the ISP (Internet Service Provider) or the organization or institution that owns the WiFi network. However, users can choose to block third-party cookies whenever they open a new Incognito window or tab.

How the Incognito Mode Protects Users’ Privacy:

Using the Incognito mode on Google Chrome means that the activity data is not saved on the user’s device or the Google account they are currently using. For instance, users can use the private browsing mode on Chrome to shop for surprise gifts for a friend or family member. Since the mode does not keep track of the activities performed on the device, it facilitates users to perform specific tasks discreetly. Once the job is done, users can close or exit the Incognito mode and return to the normal browsing mode. Whenever they close all the incognito tabs or windows, the web browser discards all site-related data and cookies associated with the specific browsing session.

Millions of users use the Incognito mode of Google Chrome to browse the Internet privately and more securely. If you wish to know more about the popular mode, refer to the sections mentioned above.

More articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article